Seven Limbs of Ancient States of India

One notable framework is the "Saptanga Theory" or the "Seven Limbs of State" as mentioned in the ancient Indian text "Arthashastra" attributed to Chanakya (Kautilya). These seven limbs are often described as:

- 1. **Swami (King):** The ruler or king who governs the state and makes decisions.
- 2. **Amatya** (**Ministers**): Advisors and ministers who assist the king in making informed decisions.
- 3. **Janapada** (**Territory**): The geographical area or territory that constitutes the state.
- 4. **Durga** (**Fortress**): The fortifications and defenses that protect the state from external threats.
- 5. **Kosha** (**Treasury**): The state's treasury which holds resources for governance, defense, and development.
- 6. **Danda** (**Army**): The military and police forces that maintain law and order, and defend the state.
- 7. **Mitra** (Allies): Diplomatic relations and alliances with neighboring states and powers.

These components represent different aspects of statecraft and governance, emphasizing the importance of a well-rounded approach to ruling a state effectively.

If you were referring to a different concept or framework, please provide more context or details so I can provide accurate information.